Dance helped me when I had nothing..

(It’s a longer post, but I thought I would share my story with you all just to explain why this topic is so important to me.)

Dance is always something that I have enjoyed. I remember being 4 years old in my first ballet recital, ready to take on the theatre. As the years went on, I continued to add to it and learned tap and jazz. I loved doing to dance class after school. It was one of my happiest memories! My parents would take me to every class, every recital, and were there center stage through it all. They knew how much I loved it from the time I was 4 until I was 11. When I was 9, my mom passed away. For two years after her passing, I kept dancing for her. Dance in itself was a “therapy” to me. It helped me to be happy and not feel upset about what was going on in life. Losing my biggest supporter and feeling like I had nothing, I put all of my time into dance and I wouldn’t let anything get in my way. It was a way for me to be able to let everything go for a short amount of time every single day. For 7 years I danced, and when I turned 11, I stopped completely. I let it help me feel happy for years, but it ended up bringing back all of those sad memories as I got older. Thinking back on it, dance was a huge part of my life. It helps others cope with what is going on in life and is a great alternative therapy for any kind of problem that surfaces.

Leave a Reply

