My Thoughts on Cochlear Implanting a Child

I have had this conversation with my boyfriend and my mother so many times. The Topic of this conversation is if I had a deaf child would I chose to get the surgery to have my child implanted with the cochlear implant?

My answer is absolutely NOT! I am not solely against the implant but I do not think that that is a decision that I need to be making for my child. Personally I believe that God has made all of us a certain way for a reason. If he wanted you to be a hearing person then you would be. Also there are many things that could happen while getting the implant such as

  • Injury of the facial nerve
  • Meningitis
  • Infection
  • Numbness around the ear
  • Attacks of dizziness or vertigo

Doctors recommend that children get the implant as babies so that they can learn to speak around the same time that hearing children speak and honestly I would not want my small baby undergoing a complicated surgery like this.

My philosophy with getting the cochlear implant is to let the children decide when they are old enough to make the decision on their own. As a parent if my child was deaf I would learn how to sign and make sure I treated them the same way I would a hearing child.

1 Comment

  1. I 100% agree with this. I have been very interested in deaf culture and did a research paper on it. By the hearing community, deafness is considered a disability that needs to “fixed.” For the deaf community, this isn’t how they see it at all and they completely embrace and are thankful for their culture. It’s truly incredible!

Leave a Reply

