What is Hospice really about?

I recently started volunteering at Compassionate Care Hospice, and I have already learned so much more than I ever thought I would. When most people think of hospice, they think of death and dying. I was the same exact way. However, my viewpoint has now changed. Hospice care is not about the patient who is dying. It is about helping them live. It is helping them live the rest of their life with dignity, respect and without pain, no matter how short that may be. It’s about helping the family and patient come to terms with their reality. Hospice does so much more for people than I had ever even realized they did. They bring families back together, they provide support services for patients and families, they send patients on vacations, etc. They try so hard to help patients feel happy and loved in their final days. It is so much more than just taking care of a person who is dying.

Leave a Reply

